Cookbook Journey 9: Quick Summer Spaghetti

Happy Monday! Many of you may recall my post promoting the Greetalian pasta sauce range. And after holding my breath for about two months, I finally have an influx of orders. I hope you guys enjoy and order more soon!

IMG_6373

There is a lot going on at Greetalian and I’m hoping I haven’t bitten off more than I can chew! But so far so good…

Speaking of chewing, I definitely couldn’t make 7 litres of pasta sauce without having some myself.

I decided, since its been an extra hot and sunny week, why not get stuck into my favourite Summer recipes a little bit early this year! And so… I whipped up this quick dish using the Greetalian Arrabbiata sauce. Try it out!

Aubergine Tomato Spaghetti with Buffalo Mozzarella and Basil

IMG_6366

What you need:

2 medium aubergines

1 tbs olive oil

500g Spaghetti

375ml Greetalian Arrabbiata sauce (or make a traditional Italian tomato sauce and add chilli)

125g Buffalo Mozzarella

Handful basil

Coarse salt and ground black pepper

IMG_6358

What you do:

Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Slice aubergines (1 cm thick) and sprinkle with coarse salt. Let rest for a few minutes, this helps remove the bitter flavour in the vegetable. Pat dry, brush each side with olive oil and arrange evenly on oven tray. Place in oven for 5 – 6 minutes until browned.

Bring a large pot of water to boil, add coarse salt and spaghetti. Cook for 20 minutes or until al dente. Drain spaghetti from pot, add the Greetalian Arrabbiata sauce and toss until covered. Roughly chop the grilled aubergines and add to the tomato spaghetti.

Add the torn mozzarella, basil leaves and coarse salt and pepper. Serve with white wine spritzers!

Buon Appetito!

IMG_6382

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Lisa Sher says:

    Hi Niks

    They look amazing.

    Im trying to cut out sugar can you do a sauce without sugar and rather add stevia or something.

    I know Im not demanding but it can be your banting range.

    Regards
    ________
    Lisa Sher

    1. greetalian says:

      Hey Lis

      The Greetalian sauces don’t have any sugar or butter in them… So I think they pretty much suit any diet 🙂

      But I can definitely make a custom sauce if you prefer! Just email orders@greetalian.co.za with what you’d like and by when.

  2. That looks so delicious! I just wanted to say hi and thank you for following! If you have been missing my posts, its because I actually switched up my blog host. I’d love to still connect with you! You can refollow at http://sweetteasweetie.com if you’re interested. Thanks!
    Kari
    http://www.sweetteasweetie.com

Leave a Reply

