Cookbook Journey 7: To do or to be

Lately I get up in the mornings torn between the desire to “do” and the desire to just “be”. Now I’m sure many of you share this feeling of waking up on a mission to get the thing done, stick to your plan, change your world. I often find myself already thinking of the next big thing while I haven’t completed the first. And we can get frustrated if things aren’t happening fast enough or according to plan, if we make mistakes along the way or fall behind.

Picture4

I think we just forget to “be”. To stop, to look around (but really look around), to take a moment and soak it all in and just enjoy. If I had a choice I’d probably be enjoying a pot of tea with freshly baked apple and cinnamon muffins while reading the new book I’ve just started and maybe have an afternoon siesta. But that’s not going to happen today.

Honestly, I think it’s close to impossible to maintain a perfect balance all the time. I read recently that you should look at life like a seesaw, understanding that sometimes one side will be up and one side will be down. When it comes to work and time to rest, productivity and pleasure, and between “doing” and “being”, your seesaw will never be perfectly balanced. But just make sure you’re not stuck in the air or down on the ground for too long at a time.

So if it’s been a while, I suggest you take the time to relax, do something for yourself and just enjoy it! Tomorrow is a brand new day – will you “do” or “be”?

Picture1

Leave a Reply

