Cookbook Journey 6: Delicious Strawberries

I’m so grateful and motivated by the support that I’ve received since announcing that I’m doing this cookbook. And even more excited that so many of you want to be part of my journey, especially following my invitation for recipe testers this week. The journey is only beginning… and I can’t wait to see what you all have to say!

IMG_5695

Over the weekend in Mauritius, I made a quick and very easy dessert that impressed all the guests. The best part about this dessert, is that it’s made in advance so you don’t need to be faffing in the kitchen while everyone is at the table. And it’s all about strawberries. and everyone loves strawberries!

I don’t have a cute story about picking strawberries in a field, although now that I think of it, I did go strawberry picking once but I don’t think any strawberries ended up in the basket. It was more like: pick, eat, pick, eat…

Anyway here is a winning recipe for your picked or store bought strawberries that you can add to ice-cream, mascarpone or fresh cream.

IMG_5703

What you need:

1 large punnet strawberries sliced in quarters

Handful of basil leaves

2 oranges

1 lemon

1 tbs brown sugar

2 tbs balsamic vinegar (this depends on how much balsamic you enjoy and I suggest you slowly add and taste).

IMG_5707

IMG_5708

What you do:

Squeeze the juice of the lemon and oranges over the strawberries, add the roughly torn basil, sugar and balsamic and mix well. Store in refrigerator for about one hour. Remove from refrigerator 15 min before serving. Make sure to scoop up the juices when serving!

IMG_6011

Leave a Reply

