Cookbook Journey 5: Recipe Tester Anyone?  

There’s no doubt that recipes have never been easier to find. Although I still love to dig through cookbooks, magazines and stacks of lose papers with hand written family recipes, most of the time we can just type a few ingredients in Google and there’s hundreds of choices at our fingertips.

IMG_5993

IMG_5996

The number of available recipes have sky rocketed, but their reliability is questionable. A great recipe doesn’t happen by accident, it’s an art. How many times have you had a moment of brilliance but then tried to make the dish again and it’s nowhere near the same. And on top of that, getting someone else to follow your recipe and instructions with that same brilliant result takes a lot of work.

IMG_5720

So in the world of cookbooks, recipe testers are essential to the development of any good book. And even though I’ll be testing each recipe at least three times, all recipes in the Greetalian Cookbook will need to be tested by someone other than myself.

Picture1

Now I’m probably going to have to rely on family and friends to start, but if anyone is interested in testing some recipes (for fun and for free) please either comment below or email littlegreetalian@gmail.com. I can’t promise that there will be a cookbook published, but if there is, all recipe testers will get a free copy!

I’m looking for testers who will:

  • Follow recipes exactly as written with no substitutions or changes to the recipe;
  • Take notes while cooking. Note your prep time or any areas of confusion in the directions;
  • Send detailed feedback at the soonest. I will provide a feedback form for guidance; and
  • Take photos of the finished dish. The best pictures received will be posted on my blog.

If you are interested in this Cookbook Journey but recipe testing is not for you, then I’d love your thoughts on the recipes, what other recipes you’d like to see in the book or any ideas you have! Why not throw a dinner party using my recipes and let me know how it goes?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Debbie Schonken says:

    Hi. Am very happy to test out recipes for you , your book sounds exciting . Regards Debbie Schonken

    1. greetalian says:

      Hi Debbie! Thanks so much! I will email you further information soon. Really looking forward to your input! Happy cooking and testing 🙂

  2. mash29 says:

    Hi,
    I found your blog via the Linkup on Peeled and am keen to be involved in developing your cookbook if you still need testers! My husband and I love trying out new recipes and your cookbook journey sounds very exciting. 🙂
    Miranda

    1. greetalian says:

      Hi Miranda. That’s great news! I will email you more info soon. Looking forward to yours and your husbands input. Happy cooking and testing 🙂

  3. I also dropped in from the Peeled linkup, and would love to test a couple of recipes! I see that even in the day of instant recipes from the Internet, you also collect cookbooks.

    1. greetalian says:

      Thanks! That would be great! Will send you more details this week! Yes I love cookbooks! I have hundreds and I still find myself sitting in bookstores paging through the ones I don’t have haha 🙂 Look forward to having you as part of my cookbook journey!

Leave a Reply

