herbs, herbs, herbs

Lately, most of my weekends have been spent planning for our new home and of course the first outdoors project that I’m super keen to tackle is the herb garden.

I’m really excited to get my hands in the soil but even more excited to take a stroll outside, pick some fresh herbs, carefully wash them and use them in my everyday cooking. I’m sure any cook will agree that using fresh herbs is the best way to add flavour, texture and colour to any dish.

My must-have herbs are definitely rocket, basil, flat-leaf parsley, mint, thyme, sage and rosemary, and most (if not all) of my recipes will include one or two of these. This Salsa Verde recipe includes THREE!

Picture3

What you need:

½ cup extra virgin olive oil 1 lemon (juice and zest) 1 cup basil leaves 1 cup mint 1 cup parsley 3 cloves garlic 2 tbs Dijon mustard 2 tbs capers rinsed 8 anchovy fillets Ground black pepper

Picture2

What you do:

Place all ingredients in food processor, without the olive oil and lemon juice, until everything is well combined. Pour in the olive oil and lemon juice until the salsa comes together and forms a paste-like consistency. Cover and leave for approximately half an hour to allow flavour to develop.

Salsa Verde is normally served cold with meat, fish or pasta.

Picture4

Picture5

6 Comments Add yours

  1. The Hungry Southern Wanderer says:

    This looks amazing!

    1. greetalian says:

      Thanks! I hope you think it tastes amazing when you try it out 😉

  2. I recently planted my first ever herb garden- this would be a great way to use up some of my crops! Thanks for linking up on Tuesday!
    Kim
    http://peeledwellness.com

    1. greetalian says:

      Thanks for the opportunity Kim! I think Tell ’em Tuesdays is a brilliant idea and have really enjoyed being part of it!

  3. Kaily says:

    A herb garden sounds so nice! We have a small yard and a larger Labrador… who likes to dig up EVERYTHING lol. So no herb garden for me, but I’m 100% going to try this sauce out 🙂 Thanks for sharing!!!

Leave a Reply

