If you are hungry and want 2 000 of something

So it has taken a while for me to introduce myself…

I am a food lover and think about food all day! Nothing makes me happier than a great meal with friends, especially if I have made it myself. I love cooking, experimenting, tasting and talking about food, and I am constantly thinking about my next meal!

Since I am also completely snap-happy around food, I have recently decided to become a food blogger.

So I will begin with a dish I feel like eating all the time…

This dish was perfect during the festive season for a long, lingering lunch or dinner with lots of red wine. So in my ideal world, I would be cosy in my kitchen nook – which doesn’t exist. Overlooking the freshly snow covered backyard – I live in South Africa. There would be a fire – I wish I had a fireplace! And most definitely a luxuriously creamy risotto, waiting warm on the stove – now this I can do!

Risotto is a short to medium grain rice that is cooked by slowly adding stock. It is the perfect example of the Italian talent of turning the simplest ingredients into a delicious and flavourful dish. It might not be new, or sexy, but classics are classic for a reason. But sometimes, even classics need a little dressing up.

If there were no consequences, like possibly turning yellow or becoming round-shaped, I think I could eat this every day…

Zucchine e Zafferano (Baby marrow and Saffron Risotto)

Rissoto

Parmigiana

 

What you need

2-3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 large onion, minced
2 medium zucchini, cut into small cubes
Pinch saffron
1 1/2 cups Arborio rice
½ cup white wine
5 1/4 cups warm broth
Salt and ground pepper
Pecorino or Parmesan cheese

What to do

Bring the broth to a boil on the stove and simmer.

In a large pan, sauté the onion with olive oil over medium heat until golden. Add the zucchini and sauté until golden. Remove the mixture from the pan and keep aside.

Stir in the saffron and the Arborio rice until the rice is translucent. Add the wine and stir until mostly reduced.

Slowly add the broth to the rice, stirring occasionally. As the rice begins to dry, add more broth, about 2 ladles each time. Repeat this process until the rice is cooked (20-25 minutes). Add the fresh pepper and cheese and cooked zucchini onion mixture, stir well. Allow the dish to set, off the stove, covered for five minutes.

Add more cheese!

Buon appetito & Kαλή όρεξη!

Leave a Reply

